20.10.23 at 18:00 - Estonia kontserdisaal (eelkontsert)
20.10.23 at 19:00 - Estonia Concert Hall
Joseph Haydn, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Béla Bartók, Arnold Schönberg


Concert series Maestro supported by EPIIM

6 p.m. – pre-concert

Conductor Gilbert Varga speaks about Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht. String sextet will perform fragments of the piece. Performers Triin Ruubel, Kaido Välja, Liisa Randalu, Andres Kaljuste, Theodor Sink and Andres Alexander Metspalu. The pre-concert talk will be in English.

7 p.m. – symphony concert

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 4 in D major, Hob. I/4

Esa-Pekka Salonen
Pentatonic Étude

Béla Bartók
Viola concerto, Sz. 120

Arnold Schönberg
Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4

Listen to the programme:

The Maestro series will start in October, under the direction of Conductor Gilbert Varga, whose previous performance with ERSO achieved great success in February 2022. Varga’s strengths include his elegant conducting technique and a deep sense of dynamics and texture, which allows him to bring out the most subtle nuances in the orchestra. This time, the audience will have a rare opportunity to hear, under Varga’s direction, Arnold Schönberg’s Verklärte Nacht as originally composed for string sextet.

The soloist of the concert will be British viola player Lawrence Power, who will be performing Béla Bartók’s Viola Concerto. Power is one of the most admired violists in the world today, having performed with a formidable list of orchestras, conductors, and chamber musicians. He is admired for his rich tone and technical mastery. Power is also passionate about contemporary music, having performed many new compositions by contemporary composers, including Erkki-Sven Tüür.

Concert organiser ERSO