09.02.24 at 19:00 - Estonia Concert Hall
Fanny Mendelssohn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Schubert


The concert series Amadeus is supported by RADISSON COLLECTION HOTEL TALLINN

Fanny Mendelssohn

Overture in C major

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219

Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 4 in C major, D 417

Acclaimed chamber musician, soloist, and concertmaster Florian Donderer will be performing with ERSO at the third concert of the Amadeus series. He is well known to local audiences as the concertmaster of the Estonian Festival Orchestra and first violin of the outstanding Signum Quartet. The Signum Quartet is one of the most adventurous and outstanding string quartets in the music world today.

For the ERSO concert, Florian Donderer has selected for the programme Violin Concerto No. 5 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. All of Mozart’s violin concertos were written over a short period of time in Salzburg, with the fifth, the Concerto in A major, a youthfully fresh and sincere work, being the last one. Alongside Mozart, Donderer has selected works by Fanny Mendelssohn and Franz Schubert. Fanny was a talented pianist and composer who was overshadowed as a musician by her brother, Felix Mendelssohn. From Schubert’s repertoire, we will be hearing the Symphony No. 4, subtitled Tragic, the most serious of his first six symphonies, reminiscent of the musical compositions of the Sturm und Drang period.

Concert organiser ERSO