18.11.22 at 19:00 - Estonia Concert Hall
Olivier Messiaen, Sergei Rahmaninov, Richard Strauss
YEKWON SUNWOO piano, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, conductor JOSEPH BASTIAN


Olivier Messiaen
Forgotten Offerings

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 2

Richard Strauss
Symphonic Poem Death and Transfiguration

In this November, pianist Yekwon Sunwoo will perform for the first time with ERSO. The audience will hear the well-known second piano concerto by Sergei Rachmaninoff. In 2017, Sunwoo won the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition as the first pianist from South Korea. He is a capable and virtuoso artist who in his own words, “strives to reach for the truth and pure beauty in music”. Since winning the Van Cliburn Competition, Yekwon Sunwoo has performed with prestigious orchestras around the world.

Joseph Bastian, a conductor with French–Swiss roots who won the Neeme Järvi Prize in 2016 will be conducting the performance. They will perform the symphonic poem Death and Transfiguration by Richard Strauss and Forgotten Offerings by Olivier Messiaen, one of the most influential composers of the twentieth century.

Concert organiser ERSO