Festival AFEKT. Border State

27.10.23 at 19:00 - Estonia Concert Hall
Galina Ustvolskaya, Jüri Reinvere, György Ligeti, Kaija Saariaho, Jānis Petraškevičs


Jüri Reinvere
Flute Concerto (premiere)

György Ligeti

Kaija Saariaho
Ciel d’hiver

Jānis Petraškevičs
Dead Wind

Galina Ustvolskaya
Symphony No. 3

This year, the AFEKT festival focuses on the idea of ​​a border state both geographically and as an expression of ideas refined to an extreme in music. Next to the works of Galina Ustvolskaya, who is testing the limits of avant-garde music, and György Ligeti, who is celebrating his 100th birthday, the works of Jānis Petraškevičs, the most internationally recognized Latvian of his generation, and Jüri Reinvere, the essayist and world composer, will be performed. Monika Mattiesen, the artistic director of the AFEKT festival, is the soloist of the premiere of Reinvere’s flute concerto.

Jüri Reinvere has written about his work: “Writing a large flute concerto for Monika Mattiesen is the fruit of our long collaboration and one of the biggest undertakings among my works written for flute. Although the flute is a very delicate instrument, I believe in the very dynamic power of expression of this instrument, and I wanted to express it in this concert as well, by contrasting a large orchestra and a solo instrument.” As a tribute to the recently departed great figure of modern music, the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, her work Ciel d’hiver will be performed. The concert will be conducted by renowned contemporary music conductor Michael Wendeberg, who has, among other things, been the pianist of the new music flagship Ensemble intercontemporain and collaborated with Pierre Boulez.

Concert organisers ERSO and AFEKT festival